Skip to product information
1 of 1

Funk Embassy Records

VA - Groove Of ESSR I (LP)

Regular price
$32.00 USD
Regular price
Sale price
$32.00 USD

+ shipping EU 8,99€ I DE 4,99€ I Free Shipping 50€ or more

Groovier side of the Iron Curtain is uncovered via the 11-track compilation out on 12" vinyl, CD and digitally. First of its kind for Funk Embassy Records, the compilers have dug the archives of Estonian Radio for funk, soul-jazz, disco, instrumentals, library music and covers. Influences from West made it to Soviet Estrada musicians on one hand; to rock, jazz, folk and fusion artists on the other. Recorded between 1974-1988, this is the sound of Estonian artists as heard at music halls, stadiums, radio, TV shows and cafeterias. 

Selection ranges from folk-funk, psychedelic soul, dancefloor certified disco, Isaac Hayes reminiscent blues-funk, contemplative jazz-funk, Piero Umiliani-esque library music, funk-rock, in-your-face b-boy break to a flute-led master piece by Uno Naissoo – one of the founders of the Estonian jazz scene who organized the notorious Tallinn Jazz Festivals (1949-1967).

Label: Funk Embassy Records
12” LP
Paper Sleeve
Colored Label
Colored Cover

1 Collage - Mets Neidude Vahel (1977)
2 Marju Kuut - Üksi, Kuid Vabana (1974)
3 Tiiu Varik - Näed Vaid Oma Silmi (1974)
4 Tõnis Mägi & Music Seif - Sa Haara Kinni Mu Käest (1982)
5 Els Himma - Kesköö (1977)
6 Valter Ojakäär - Rasked Veosed (1976)
7 Uno Naissoo - Marss-Eksprompt (1976)
8 Gunnar Graps & Magnetic Band - Leidmine (1980)
9 Eesti TV & Radio Estraadiorkester - Kesköösamba (instr.)(1974)
10 Tarmo & Toomas Urb feat. Vanemõde - Välgud Peeglis (short version) (1988)
11 Esti Raadio Estraadiorkester - Mälesuste Teel (Instr.) (1974)